Delete Your Files (Or Wipe Your Hard Drive) Beyond Recovery

How confident are you that when you ‘delete’ a file, it really get deleted/removed/erased/wiped from your hard disk? The fact is, the ‘delete’ command does not remove your file(s). It simply tells your system to free up the space for other data. Until the space been filled with new data, your file(s) will still remain on the disk itself. That is to say, with some simple recovery tools, the files can be easily recovered. Now, if you want to completely eradicate porns files that contain sensitive information, you have to do more than just ‘delete’ and ‘empty trash’

Shred is a shell command that allows you to securely erase any files. It overwrites the specified file(s) repeatedly, in order to make it harder for even very expensive hardware probing to recover the data.

Shred is included in many Linux distributions, thus you can use it immediately, without any further installation.